Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 10-17-2008
Bristol 45.5 - AiniA

killarney_sailor is on a distinguished road
Sta-Lok or ?

I have no experience with user-installed wire terminals like Sta-Lok, Noresman or others. I have to shorten my running backstays and thought that it would be a good opportunity to learn about these. Does anyone have recommendations about which ones are easiest to use, most reliable - are they basically the same or are there significant differences that I should know about?

Thanks
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-17-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
I like the Hayn HiMods, since they're a bit simpler to use IMHO. They have a crown ring that the wire ends slip into, and it is easier to fit them properly than the StaLocks or Norseman fittings. None of the various brands is all that difficult to use though.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps
her going when she oughta fall down, tells you she's hurting 'fore she keens. Makes her a home.

—Cpt. Mal Reynolds, Serenity (edited)

If you're new to the Sailnet Forums... please read this
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Still—DON'T READ THAT POST AGAIN.
Old 10-17-2008

Paul_L is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by killarney_sailor View Post