Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 11-11-2008

deathstare is on a distinguished road
Starting Problem w/Yamaha 8HP OB

I'm new to Sailnet... so first let me say hi to the community here. I just started sailing this year; bought the boat in April and sailed it off of Beaufort NC pretty much every weekend this past summer, the wife and kids joining me in the latter half (once my wife was satisfied I wouldn't sink it or otherwise embarass us). So far it's been a great experience.

Got a question on what seems like a backwards starting problem (bear with me.. I'll explain) with the Yamaha OB on my S2 7.3 that spang up at the end of the summer when I wasn't going out to the boat every week.

Here's the sequence, after the boat has sat for about 2 weeks or more (full disclosure: I keep the boat on a mooring):
1) 1st turn of the key... nada seems like a dead battery
- checked battery, has 10.5V, lights/other electronics work fine
2) wait a few minutes... turn again... a click
3) wait a few minutes more... turn again... fast clicking (like a car whose battery is dying)
4) wait a few minutes more... turn again... engine turns over once, then nothing
5) repeat ad nauseum (engine seems to turn over a few more times more each iteration, if you don't wait a few minutes in between attempts you get nothing)
6) after 30-40min and multiple key turns (and a lot of swearing ) ... engine cranks enough times to start
7) after it's started, you can shut it off and restart np

I thought the battery leads might not be in good contact (volts, but can't pass the amps) but I've repeated the above without touching the battery or leads (eg. to measure voltage) and it is exactly the same.