Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 11-20-2008

Gaffrig is on a distinguished road
Choosing a suitable Varnish

Although I have been around boats all my life. I am new to Varnishing.

The woodwork on my sailing boat had previously been varnished and was about 7 years old and now expectedly showing wear and tear.

So I set about re-varnishing my Mast, Thwart and Gunwales.

I sanded everything down cleaned off all dust and was now ready to apply the varnish.

Not knowing what varnish to apply I bought International Yacht Varnish Gloss the one in the red tin.

w w w.international-paints.co.uk/details.php?productid=93&search=1]International]International Paints[/url] Paints

I applied the varnish and was delighted with it. High gloss and looked beautiful. I did it in the Garage nice and dry and dust free. It was about 3Months later I re launched my boat and put her on her moorings. She looked beautiful and much to my delight people admired my first attempt at varnish work.

It was only a couple more months that the Varnish started to show signs of peeling off. Eventually the whole lot flaked off.
It was also soft and marked easily. Understanably I was disappointed after all my hard work, so rang tech support.

They said the varnish was not a marine varnish. Needless to say I was surprised. I asked why then it was called Yacht Varnish as most yachts I know are in a marine environment.

The reply was that tech support was not responsible for naming the product and they would pass my comments on to another department.

If you read the above link to the "Yacht Varnish" you willl see right at the bottom it says not for Marine use. Bear in mind I did not have this data sheet available at the time of purchase, and made my decision on the fact that on the tin it said Yacht Varnish. So in my naivety I assumed it would be good for yachts.