Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 12-03-2008

CapnRon47 is on a distinguished road
diesel fuel

Simple questions as I am new to boat ownership. Is the diesel fuel I buy at the fuel dock essentially the same I can buy at the gas station? I would like to be able to top off the tank on the boat without having to motor/sail the 5 miles to the nearest fuel dock.

And, is there a recommended stabilizer that should be put in diesel tanks (both on the boat and container at the house/dock)? I do know about the organicide, which I already use.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-03-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Yes, the fuel is essentially the same, but many marinas will have policies against re-fueling boats via jerry cans of fuel.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps
her going when she oughta fall down, tells you she's hurting 'fore she keens. Makes her a home.

—Cpt. Mal Reynolds, Serenity (edited)

If you're new to the Sailnet Forums... please read this
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Still—DON'T READ THAT POST AGAIN.
Old 12-03-2008
Watkins 23

rrh is on a distinguished road