SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Gear & Maintenance (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/)
-   -   Columbia 22 mast (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/49530-columbia-22-mast.html)

pjboots 12-08-2008 02:07 AM

Columbia 22 mast

I have to take the mast down on my Columbia 22 (I am a new boat owner). I have lots of experience with the mast on a Hobbie cat but this is a completly different animal. How do I take this mast down? Can you recomend any recources? I am determined to do all the repairs on this boat myself so that I can learn as much as possible. Thank-you for your time.

Pjboots

timebandit 12-08-2008 03:04 AM

This is how I do my Mac.

Look twards the bottom of the page.

Mac22.Valentina - mods

pjboots 12-09-2008 01:39 AM

Your system looks great but your mast base looks different. On my boat the mast looks as if it attached directly to the deck; there is no pivot point for the mast. So my question is very simple: How do I detach the base of the mast so that the mast will lower? I can rope it down so that it does not swingout when the mast is coming down.

Pjboots

timebandit 12-09-2008 03:15 AM

Is there a hinge on your mast base?

sailingdog 12-09-2008 09:02 AM

Pjboots-

It would help a lot if you could post a photo of the mast base. :) I would highly recommend you get an account on a photo sharing website, like flickr.com and then post the photos there, and link to them here.

retclt 12-09-2008 09:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by timebandit (Post 414085)
Is there a hinge on your mast base?

PJ,