SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Gear & Maintenance (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/)
-   -   vang attachment (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/50901-vang-attachment.html)

bluwateronly 01-27-2009 07:58 PM

vang attachment

2 Attachment(s)
Hello sail guys and gals, time to rig up a boom vang. I have a Bombay Clipper31 with mid boom sheeting and a boomkicker but no vang. The issue I am struggling with is the attachment parts to the boom and mast. Seems like on the boom a boom bail such as the pic would be okay but putting a big hole in the boom is not my first choice maybe the hound style would be okay? Now the mast, no way am I drilling a big hole thru the base of my mast to attach a bail, no way. I thought about putting a mast organizer or mast step under the mast but, they all seem to be stainless and the people that built my boat put an aluminum mast step, which makes sense to me, I don't want my mast corroding to dust so putting a stainless steel step won't work. One idea would be to mount heavy pad eyes into the mast step, it's got lots of room about three inches all around mast. I know that the stresses put on the bolts will be putting an upward pull on the bolts so I don't think that is best either. Can you all give me some more options.

Faster 01-27-2009 09:39 PM

There are other options, but of the ones you've cited, attaching something to the plate that forms your mast step seems best to me... Keep in mind that these fitting can end up being heavily loaded and should be chosen and installed accordingly.

There are fittings available, too, that fit into your extruded sail track on the mast if you have an appropriate mast section. The drawing below is an attempt to illustrate one version... perhaps it will help you to see what I mean.

http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/c...er345/vang.jpg

bluwateronly 01-27-2009 10:05 PM

1 Attachment(s)