Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 02-16-2009

1970Columbia34 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to 1970Columbia34 Send a message via MSN to 1970Columbia34 Send a message via Yahoo to 1970Columbia34
Starting Battery Setup.

We are repowering from a gas to a diesel motor. I was thinking about adding a dedicted 3 battery just for the motor. I don't want of need it tied to the current house batteries. He is my idea add the 3 battery soley for starting, hooks all batteries up to the alternator for charging, and also to the charger, we have a Xantrex Truecharge 20 that will charge 3 batteries. would this setup be fine? Thanks.

Scott
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-16-2009
Unpaid Intern

josrulz is on a distinguished road
Hi Scott, in the interest of full disclosure, I'm not an electrical expert. I just happen to be studying some of the same issue for our boat. I have have two house batteries, one in each bank. I'd like a 2 battery house bank and a separate battery in the other bank for starting. Here's what I've learned thus far, though someone might be able to add to this or offer alternatives. There are a few ways to accomplish what you're mentioning, but there's one principal common to all of them.

You shouldn't hook up the alternator to the house bank and the starting battery all together, at least not as simple as that. First of all, they might be different type batteries, but even if they are the same, they will be at different level of discharge every time. Charging them all in parallel will shorten their lifespan.