Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 02-16-2009
1968 Soverel 33-1

Sinuous is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to Sinuous
Rewiring a relic--power advice? Electrical gurus?

We've got a 1968 Soverel 33 with several generations of kludged-together antiquated wiring and it's a general confusing mess (Lucas electrics FTL); I'm planning to totally redesign and rewire the thing so that it's suitable for fulltime liveaboards (two of us) and eventual cruising.

I'm no expert electrician, but I've rewired cars and planes, and I was an ET in the service. I have the basic skillset but no specific knowledge that is unique to boats. I'm not afraid to get in there and try stuff to get the thing to work.

At the moment it has a 10A charger and no inverter at all; we only have 120VAC while hooked to shore power; it's hardwired to the two AC outlets. No shore power, no AC.

What I want to do is upgrade the charger and install two inverters and a third outlet. The AC power load will mostly be light--two laptops and a printer, a small space heater, and a small fridge; but with occasional large loads from a microwave. The boat has a small DC fridge which we're keeping--ain't broke, so not gonna mess with it--and the DC lighting system, which I'm going to rewire for neatness and switch over to LED light ASAP. We're going to add a second fridge that can store more than a sixpack.

My specific plan is to go with a 30-amp switchable 2-stage/3-stage charger; a single 750W MSW inverter (bought dirt cheap at a pawn shop, not my first choice, but too good a deal to pass up) to power the one V-berth outlet; and a 2.0kW PSW inverter to power the saloon and galley outlets which will carry more sensitive electronic loads.