Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 03-05-2009

squishface is on a distinguished road
Newbie glassing over a thru-hull

Greetings to all. I want to fill in 2 un-used corroded through-hulls in my boat (fiberglass), It's my first time doing fiberglassing and I've been reading 'hull and deck repair' by don casey (any other good books on it you guys can recommend?), but have a few questions I would like to ask. They're both below the waterline and about 3-4 inches diameter. I don't care much for looks, just strength.

The idea then, is that I have some kind of plastic backing plate on the outside of the hull, put a bit of gelcoat down first, then glass on top of that.

I would like to use epoxy if possible, just because the book said its stronger. Can I still use epoxy if I'm putting a layer of gelcoat down first, or should I just use polyester resin? Or can I use something other than gelcoat for the outside layer, like just pure epoxy or paint?

And secondly, how do I stop the epoxy/resin/gelcoat bonding to the plastic backing plate?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 03-05-2009
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Squishface—

You would want to remove the through hulls from the hull. Then you would want to grind the fiberglass to a 12:1 bevel for the thickness of the laminate in the area of the repair. This means that if the fiberglass is 1/2" thick, you would grind a beveled area 6" in radius from the through-hull's original location. Be sure to wash the area well with a good solvent wash like Fiberglass Prep Wash 202 before doing the grinding, since you don't want to grind any oil or wax into the fiberglass.