Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 03-13-2009

L124C is on a distinguished road
Heeling while running diesel

I was talking to another boat owner who also has a Yanmar 2GM. He is under the the impression that you should not run a diesel for extended periods while heeled over because the motor might not circulate enough oil. I have certainly done this (some days, thats the only way you are going to get back in the Golden Gate!) , have never had a problem or heard that I shouldn't. I looked at the Yanmar manual and it doesn't mention anything. Has anyone heard of adverse effects of heeling while under power?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-13-2009

freddyray is on a distinguished road
I would think not, but I am not an expert. I suppose in theory the heel could be great enough to cause the oil pickup to be out of the oil, but it would seem to me the oil would need to be very low so what would it matter then. Diesel trucks haul loads up and down hill and ect for miles and miles. I think it is a bunch of hogwash imo
Old 03-13-2009
STARBOARD!!

KeelHaulin will become famous soon enough KeelHaulin will become famous soon enough
If your engine has a low pressure alarm (buzzes when engine stopped, key on); it should warn you if the engine is being starved of oil. Usually marine diesels (and Yanmar is marine specific); are designed to be tilted and still run without the oil pickup going high and dry. On my Perkins 4-108 the manual says the engine can be tilted to 25deg without loss of oil pressure.
Old 03-13-2009

kd3pc is on a distinguished road
Yanmar in a hunter 42 suggests less than 10 degrees heel when motor sailing...

dave
Old 03-13-2009
Back to just the Jon boat

therapy23 is on a distinguished road
We overheated a motor because the water intake was out of the water for too long due to heel.

Dunno about oil.
Old 03-13-2009