Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 03-23-2009

CapnRon47 is on a distinguished road
Yet Another Bottom Paint Question

This is my first year owning my first boat and I am trying to prepare myself for negotiations with the yard on bottom painting. The boat is a 1990 Clearwater 35' sloop as I have mentioned in other threads. The bottom was last done in 2005 with a signal coat and two top coats of Micron CSC. However, up until May of 2008 it was only in the water from May to October, then hauled and dry stored. They did touch up painting every year before launch. I purchased her last May and sailed her from CT to the Sassafras River where she stayed thru last summer. I had her hauled in Sept and the bottom cleaned before our trip to NC. Here are a couple of shots of the bottom at that time;

The first of the bow half cleaned,

And a shot of the swing keel section after power washing;

She came pretty clean easily and we motored and sailed her to NC and then up until early December with no noticable issues.

She has set in the water at our dock in NC since last fall. She is starting to show some growth buildup and just by the length of time since the last painting I am thinking she is going to need a bottom paint job sometime by the end of this season. Now come the questions: