Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 03-28-2009

pvemp is on a distinguished road
Replacing Groco SV-1500 Seacock

Hi, I have a thruhull that had a Groco SV-1500 seacock in it. It was original on my 1981 C&C. The wood backing plate started to rot and the valve was leaking a bit when you tried to open or close it, so I pulled it out. I'd like to replace it. I was thinking of going with the newer Groco seacock system with a flanged adapter and inline ball valve.

As a novice I am a bit nervous about having to go from two bolt holes in my hull to 3 and having to drill new ones. Can anyone recommend the best way to make those holes and what is the best material to use as a backing plate so I don't have to deal with rotting wood again?

Any insight would help me a lot!

Thanks,
Shaun
Willsboro Bay, NY
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-28-2009

xort has a spectacular aura about xort has a spectacular aura about xort has a spectacular aura about
You don't necessarily need to thru bolt the flange adapter thru the hull. I can't say for sure what you have on your boat, but on mine I never had the bolts thru the hull. I'm replacing several similar thu hulls and I've been communicating with groco. What they suggested to me is to 5200 the backing block to the hull and use lag bolts to screw down the flange adapter. The flange adapter is a great new way to do this from what I've studied up on. Groco phone support is pretty good and helpful.
So that would mean all you need to do is fill the existing holes with epoxy filler. Mainesail will tell you to glass in your backing plates and that has merit but the 'standard' practice seems to be gluing them down. I soaked my marine ply backing plates with wood hardener just because.
Old 03-28-2009
Telstar 28