Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 04-07-2009

PCP777 is on a distinguished road
Problems starting Merc 9.9 long shaft

I'm hoping you guys can help as I'm a total outboard novice, I truly don't know what I don't know:

I have a 2007 Merc 9.9 that is virtually brand new with very few hours that came with my C-25 that I bought 2 months ago. It starts fine and easy on the second pull while in the Marina but on my last two sails it was really difficult to start when we were ready to come back in.

The first time I attributed it to the fact that I didn't open the vent on the gas tank. I had to try and try and finally I think I used the throttle button on the side and it finally kicked to life. We had a high pucker moment as we had doused all the sails before we had the problems starting the engine but we were able to sail out to deeper water and resolve the issue.