SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Lift Keel Appears to be Missing

2K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  hellosailor 
#1 ·
I am new to the sailing community and at the end of last year I purchased a 24' sailboat that I was told has a "swinging keel." The boat was dry docked and I recently went to check on it before it gets put back in the water. My first impression was that it was a fixed keel. However, I noticed that the bottem of the keel has a slit where it appears another keel would drop down. What kind of keel is this? Also, it appears that this piece is missing. Is this dangerous to sail? Do I need to replace this? Can I easily find a piece that would work? If it doesnt need to be replaced should I seal it up? I apologize for what are probably obvious questions, but like I said- I am new to sailing and trying to learn. Any help would be appreciated.

#2 ·
swing keel, or centerboard, the seller lied. shame shame. it will sail without it but the boat was designed with it. what make model boat?

#4 ·
If the boat was truly a swing keel, then the boat would probably be fairly dangerous to sail without the swing keel in place, since the swing keel provides a good portion of the stability and ballast for the boat.

If the boat is a centerboard boat with a stub keel, and the centerboard is not weighted and mainly to allow the boat to point better, then you could sail it without the centerboard, but you would have far more leeway than you would if it were installed and lowered. This can be a safety concern, since the ability for the boat to point and sail well to windward may be important if you're trying to sail off a lee shore, or trying to make progress to windward while short-tacking.