Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 05-31-2009

wind_magic has a spectacular aura about wind_magic has a spectacular aura about wind_magic has a spectacular aura about
KISS wind generator [Need help - 1]

Okay folks,

I am considering two important purchases, the KISS wind generator being one of them. Any last minute advice/thoughts on this wind generator before I make my final decision and place the order ? Please, anyone who has this unit, I would be interested in hearing your thoughts before I commit to it.

It was a choice between the Four winds and the KISS, and, I don't know, I just kind of like the KISS I suppose. I have no experience with either one of them. These two seemed like they were the highest output in low winds and I am in low wind situations a lot (aren't we all ?). Thanks Cam for that chart you posted some time ago.

One thing I didn't like about the Four winds is that it seems very expensive for what amounts to an alternator with a prop on the front. Yes, it is more complicated than that, but is it $$$$ more complicated ?

Please support my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-31-2009
moderate?

camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough
I like the 4 winds best but KISS is a strong second choice and nearly $1k less. I agree that the KISS is the better value. I know lots of cruisers that have them and are happy. Only problem seems to be responsiveness to parts requests sometimes.
Old 05-31-2009

wind_magic has a spectacular aura about wind_magic has a spectacular aura about wind_magic has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by camaraderie View Post