Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 06-04-2009

gimmellsdad is on a distinguished road
Changing the halyard from wire to rope

Hi there,

I'm new to this fourm and I have a question, but first some background. We sail out of Whitby, ON on an H28 Ketch rig. She has a mahogany hull, spruce masts and a furling headsail.

Our wire halyards have all but worn out and we've decided to switch to rope. The sheaves will take a maximum of 3/16"

It was suggested to us that we go with Spectra 12 strand because it's low stretch and high strength. However it's very expensive, approx. $1.30/ft. It has a Minimum Tensile Strength of 3600 lbs.

Novabraid Polyspec has been made as a less expensive alternative but I want to make sure it's strong enough. It has a similar elongation at break strength but only a Minimum Tensile Strength of approx. 1800 lbs.

Does anyone know if this is suitable as an alternative?

Thanking you in advance,
Bobby

Seahorse - H28
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-04-2009

Gary M is on a distinguished road
You might be able to change out your sheeves, 3/16" line is very small. If you go with Spectra it will be strong enough but will be hard to handle. 5/16" is about as small as I would want to use.

If you cannot change out your sheeves you can go with "tapered" halyards. That is one where you have a high tech core like spectra and have a cover on it part way up. This allows a larger line at the deck where you are handling it and the 3/16" core will go though the sheeves.

Gary
Old 06-04-2009
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice