Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 06-10-2009
Unpaid Intern

josrulz is on a distinguished road
Adding 12v outlet properly

OK, this is really basic electrical, but since I'm new to boat electrical stuff, please bear with me.

Our 1984 Sabre 34 has no 12v outlets--none whatsoever. As a temporary solution, we have a portable outlet connected to a battery, but we need to install permanent outlets.

For now, I'm planning on interior-only near our nav station (no cockpit plug at this time).

So to my question(s): First, how are 12v outlets typically wired into the DC system--by this I mean, do they go through the DC breaker panel? If so, on what circuit would they typically go? On their own "Outlets" circuit, along with "Cabin Lights", other?

I realize this might be personal preference, but I'd like to know what typical is before I do something different--at least I have a frame of reference.

Below is my current breaker panel, so I'm open to suggestions as to how best to incorporate. Note there are two "Cabin Lights" breakers (one forward half of boat, other aft half)--I could combine those maybe and free up something new?

Anyway, please let me know what's typical with 12v outlets, if there is such a "typical" treatment.
Thanks!
-J
Old 06-10-2009
Irrationally Exuberant

arf145 is on a distinguished road
We have only one 12v outlet--one of those round cigarette lighter types--it has its own breaker on the 12v panel.

2000 Beneteau 331
Northern Chesapeake Bay

Ambition is a poor excuse for not having enough sense to be lazy ~ Steven Wright
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-10-2009

night0wl is on a distinguished road
I installed three 12v outlets. They are wired into the "cabin lights" breaker. We have a rule...nothing more powerful than a laptop on those outlets. So no TV, coffe makers etc via inverter. Just the laptop, cell phone chargers and other lower draw devices.