Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 06-17-2009

swimnfit is on a distinguished road
Universal M25 with hours

I had thought about posting this question in the buying boat section but it seems better placed here.
I am looking at a 1978 Catalina 30 with a Universal M25. The engine has 1500 hours on it. I am pretty certain this is a very high number of hours and I do not believe the engine has been rebuilt.
Supposing normal maintenance has been performed, how many hours could a person expect to get out of this engine? Additionally, what service should be done to it to extend it's life span.
I am a pretty handy bicycle mechanic but not much of a motorhead... what maintenance or services could I reasonably be able to perform?
Finally, approx what is involved and what is a very ballpark figure for a complete engine rebuild.
As always... your sage advice is welcomed

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

“A wet sheet and a flowing sea, / A wind that follows fast / And fills the white and rustling sail / And bends the gallant mast.”
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-18-2009
the pointy end is the bow

erps will become famous soon enough erps will become famous soon enough
1500 hrs is not excessive. That's actually light, less than 100 hours a year. Our current boat has 2600 hours on it and runs great. I've heard estimates of 5,000 hrs can be attained with maintenance.
La Conner, WA

Boating for over 25 years, some of them successfully.
Old 06-18-2009

davidpm is on a distinguished road
I sail at Catalina 30 about same age and engine.
Engine rebuild is thousands if it can be done. Sometimes the block is damaged in such a way as to make rebuilding not possible.