SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Gear & Maintenance (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/)
-   -   bilge cleaner recs... (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/55599-bilge-cleaner-recs.html)

RocktheBoat 06-23-2009 07:48 AM

bilge cleaner recs...

I am new to sailing and wondered what others are using to tackle the grimy cleaning of the bilge. Is there a particular product that is most useful in cutting the grime but that is also safe for pumping out....
thanks
David

PalmettoSailor 06-23-2009 08:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RocktheBoat (Post 499203)
I am new to sailing and wondered what others are using to tackle the grimy cleaning of the bilge. Is there a particular product that is most useful in cutting the grime but that is also safe for pumping out....
thanks
David

PS just did a comparison and several products got favorable mentions. I know the Starbrite Citrus was on the list and thats what I bought to attack the horrible sludge my bilge accumulated over the winter. Its pretty effective stuff and you'll need to wear gloves for the scrubbing.

I added product to the nasty bilge water, scrubbed, bailed out the smuck and then rinsed with fresh water and the bilge was vastly improved. However, I then left some of the cleaner with freshwater to continue working. It will supposedly eventually eat the remaining accumulated grease and oil.

I don't think any of this products should be pumped into the bay though.

pdqaltair 06-23-2009 10:31 AM

No, if there is oil involved, no product may be discharged.

Quote:

Originally Posted by midlifesailor (Post 499207)
PS just did a comparison and several products got favorable mentions. I know the Starbrite Citrus was on the list and thats what I bought to attack the horrible sludge my bilge accumulated over the winter. Its pretty effective stuff and you'll need to wear gloves for the scrubbing.