Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 07-20-2009

yippeekayay is on a distinguished road
New Sailor with New Boat

Hello all,

I am new to sailing but not to waters...I am located on the southern coast of texas. I plan to sail my new boat from clear lake houston to Port Lavaca texas. This will mean i will have to sail in the Gulf of mexico and I would like to sail at night and day. Can anyone tell me the essentials to doing this. Depth finder? radar? I dont mind saying that i would like to rough it a little bit and earn the trip but i dont want to die.

Brandon from texas
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-20-2009

irwin325cc is on a distinguished road
Well not much advice here (I just bought my first large boat a year ago) but I'm planning to move my boat "Gypsy" to Corpus Christi in Oct or November. I'm alittle worried about unlighted rigs or submerged seacontainers but I'm not about to drop a few grand on radar after all I want an autopilot. I think as long as I plan the trip for a good weather window and there is a decent moon out I should beable to spot most objects.
I'm up in Clearlake also, when are you planning on taking the trip. If I get everything I want done I may be heading out with Harvest moon regata the fist week of Oct.
Matt
Old 07-20-2009
Old Fart

DwayneSpeer is on a distinguished road
Pretty tough question

You say you are new to sailing but not to waters but apparently you haven't done any off shore boating of any kind. I hope you don't try this without at least having someone aboard that is an experienced hand and at least three people to help with watches because nothing substitutes for experience and the only way to get it is to get it.

Radar Only if you think there may be fog and then if you do, stay in port until it clears.

Depth sounder Absolutely, but only when you are entering and leaving port in most cases.