Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 08-16-2009

DS16guy is on a distinguished road
DS 16 sails and parts?

Hi...a newbie here an I hope I'm posting this on the right forum. I'm not only new to the forum, but new to sailing. I just bought my first boat, an 80 something DS 16. I bought this boat at a yard sail with trailer for $200...

The boat and trailer are in surprisingly good condition, but the drawback is the boat comes without sails. I wonder if anyone could advise on where to get sails for this? From the little bit of research I've done, the sail area is 155 square feet, and pictures show this little day sailer with two sails....maybe what they call a Genoa and a Jib? Any help is appreciated.....thanks.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-16-2009
The Brinlae Rose Lives

stevegmusic is on a distinguished road
no sails

I always check craigslist and ebay 1st. If you know how to rig a simple sailboat, you can use SOME parts from a general hardware store. Real boat parts are always best, but some things are hard to find if you don't live in a place where people sail much. I had to rig some stuff on my Bucc18 and I haven't had her out yet to see if she'll go, but if you can get the main up, control the boom, let out the jib and steer, I'm pretty sure you can sail.
I almost picked up a mutineer with no mainsail before I found the 'Rose'. I looked for a couple of days and found one with the right measurements on craigslist. The guy had just bought racing sails for his 15' dinghy and was getting rid of the stock rig. I think he could have been new to the game 'cause all he wanted was 60 bucks. He lived too far away so I asked him if he would ship. He said he would for 75 total. Poor guy probably could have got a couple hundred for them, but some folks just want room in the closet.