Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 09-02-2009

bottleinamessage is an unknown quantity at this point
Propshaft packing question

Our Jeanneau has a 30mm shaft. I had the packing replaced a couple years ago and it leaks. I tightened the flange as tight as it will go and it still leaks. I disassembled and found four wraps of packing material. I believe since the boat is French built and everything else is metric, the yard used 1/4" packing material which is to small (hence the four wraps). Has anyone heard of packing material in METRIC sizes? If so, I'd appreciate info on where I can buy some.
Thanks, Jay
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-02-2009

preservedkillick is on a distinguished road
I'm no expert on this, but I have not seen packing in metric sizes. I don't think that the packing material size requirement is that exact of a fit. Are the wraps made from individual rings with each ring cut correctly and the cuts staggared? Do you have the lock nut loose before you tighten?

Our very own Main Sail has the best write up I've seen:
Re-Packing A Traditional Stuffing Box Photo Gallery by Maine Sailing at pbase.com

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Seagrass
Boothbay Harbor, ME
Alberg 30:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 09-02-2009

That is a great link. Thanks. Mine is a different setup. It resembles a muffler flange with two studs (one on each side of the shaft). I'll try to post a picture.
Old 09-02-2009

DrB will become famous soon enough
The beauty of packing material is that if it ......