Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 09-21-2009
Waiting For Spring

krozet is on a distinguished road
Inflatable Tender (Rubber Duck Inflatables)

Hello;

I am starting to look at tenders for my boat and being Canadian I came across Rubber Duck Inflatables, a Canadian company. I have no experience and doing a search for 'Rubber Duck' certainly brings up a few posts but nothing to do with Inflatable Tenders. The model I am looking at, RDD 230 with an aluminum bottom and a 4HP motor would be perfect for me in terms of weight and size. I would like any feedback I could get on these boats, they seem to be a lot less than some of the other models recommended around here.

Thanks for any info;

Robert
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 09-21-2009

ahab211 is on a distinguished road
rubber dinghy

In my opinion I'd buy a name brand as most knockoffs are polypropalene and the name brands are hypalon. The difference being Hypalon isn't as effected by sun wear which makes the fabric porous. Also name brands have removable valves if they leak. I have a knockoff Baltik and I've dumped two quarts of a liquid rubber sealant that makes an inner seal when the fabric starts to leak. It cost $60.00 Canadian and lasts a year maybe. Also, the valve on that chamber started to leak and I can't remove it. So short of filling it every time I use it it' ready for the dump. Check it out thoroughly before buying an unknown brand. Good luck.
Old 09-21-2009

JimsCAL is on a distinguished road
Many of the "name brand" inflatables are PVC. Nothing wrong with a PVC boat, it just won't stand up to a lot of sun like a hypalon boat, but it will be less expensive. I am sure the Rubber Duck boats are imported from Asia, probably China. Quality could be fine, but who knows. Hopefully some actual owners will chime in here.
Old 09-21-2009
Waiting For Spring