SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Onboard tool kit

2K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  sailingdog 
#1 ·
So as I am new to sailing and already cannot wait until spring, I am Minnesota not much boating in the winter.... If I was on a 26-30 footer what kind of onboard toolkit would one want to carry? Asking this now as I have a few months to get things together for next season. Thanks in advance!

CB

#2 ·
I asked this when I first came aboard and was given this reference by Sailing Dog to his website

The Cruising Sailor's Toolkit | Adrift at Sea

This pretty much covers all your needs. As long as you know what to do with it. I.E, no need to buy a full supplies of electrical tools if you do not know how to do the work or plan on doing it. If you want to learn Nigel Calder has a good book on it. Don Casey has a lot of good books on fixing the rest of the boat. "Don Casey's complete illustrated Sailboat Maintenance Manual" is a compendium of a number of his books.

I have been doing a lot of work on my little boat and have 2 small tool bags to cover all my needs. But there is no electrical or mechanical parts onboard.

#4 ·
I have a home tool kit that came in a hard plastic case with fitted spaces for all the tools. It has a basic 3/8 and 1/4 metric/SAE socket set, screwdrivers, pliers, needle-nose, a claw hammer and jewelers screw drivers. I have been surprised over the years how handy it is. I also have a regular hard plastic toolbox that holds everything else, files, wrenches, hacksaw, a mirror, and everything else I have found I needed over the years. BUT, each boat has different needs. I have a new boat now and I am finding the tool kit needs redoing. The tool boxes need to fit and should be picked for their size. Multiple soft bags might be easier to stow.