SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Convert yacht to 240 Volts

17K views 23 replies 11 participants last post by  Jeff_H 
#1 ·
Has any1 converted a 110v system to 240v

My dilemma is I am about to purchase a PSC 37 recently imported to Australia. Nice set up withHeart inverter/charger, has portable step down tranny on board, lacking Aust. style plugs (no prob there though,I am an electrician)
Now should i just leave as be, and just source on board appliance which chief petty officer (wife) requires from US, (blender, microwave) or put a step up tranny between inverter and outlets, then changing outlets to Aust.

or

are there small, plug in transformers available.

I am going to have to check out some of my apliance more closely to see if they have 110 volt function.

No plans to go too far from Australia.

Appreciate any sugestions

#2 · (Edited)
here is a thought, how about upgrade everything on the boat to 240, including the chargers, then use a US inverter for the 110 volt loads off the batteries, which will charge of the 240 volt power. best of both worlds and i would bet it would be cheaper to install.

i am an electrician too, and we know transformers put out heat and take up space

edit i would bet you can sell off the parts you dont need like the transformers and chargers to people sailing to the US or who have bought other US boats

#3 ·
As a sparky, you will have no dramas with this. There is an AUS standard for mains-ships 240V power. I'll see if I can source the document for you. The wiring probably will need replacing anyway - insulation requirements and standards.

Safer changing the lot fully. Many/most yachts have piecemeal upgrades.
cheers
David

#4 ·