SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Gear & Maintenance (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/)
-   -   DIY christmas present (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/59815-diy-christmas-present.html)

larissa1740 11-15-2009 06:53 AM

DIY christmas present

HI;

My dad owns a 21ft Holiday 23. And I decided that this year for Christmas -instead of buying useless, expensive gadgets- I woud 're-do' the boat's outdated interior. (I will post pictures as soon as I have figured out a way to get the keys from my dad without him getting suspicious.)

I'm pretty handy with a sewing machine,so re-upholstering shouldn't be a problem.
My issue is that the fibreglass on the 'walls' of my dad's yacht USED TO BE white and look quite horrendous. I want to know if it's possible to somehow 'repaint' the fibreglass to make it look 'new'.
I'm a student so I don't have the budget to get a proffessional to come do it for me.

can someone pls help...

timebandit 11-15-2009 08:27 AM

Windex (the window cleaner) works wonders to remove smoke and grease and stuff from fibreglass.

Clean from the bottom up.

larissa1740 11-15-2009 08:42 AM

THX; i'll try that.

do I just spray on and wipe with a cloth? or is there another trick I should know about?

JimMcGee 11-15-2009 09:31 AM

The previous owner of my boat was a heavy smoker. Spray Nine, with one of those green scrubbing pads, followed by a wet paper towel works wonders, but you have to have everything open on the boat while you're using it to keep the fumes down.

Jim

Faster 11-15-2009 09:39 AM

And once you clean it, a coat of paint will dress it right back up again. Any of the single part "plastic" paints from Home Depot or Home Hardware etc will do a decent job in inside the boat. Ideally use Interlux Brightsides, but the hardware store paint is less expensive.

larissa1740 11-15-2009 11:08 AM