Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 11-24-2009
Tundra Down

downeast450 is on a distinguished road
Running backstay chainplate placement

I am adding running backstays.

When I install the chainplates, what governs their placement athwart ship? I have the bulkheads half done and want to make chainplates. I assume the angle the chainplate is attached should line its running back stay up with the tangs. Since the chainplates are about 5' aft of the mast I will need to either build them with an offset plate for bolting to the bulkhead or build up the mounting surface to accept a flat plate at the appropriate angle. Since I will be building these plates I can design them to exit the deck very close to the toe rail. One thing that occurs to me is stay storage when not in use. How much stress will I create for the wire if they are stored with the lower backs? I have no experience with runningbackstays,yet, and will appreciate any insight.

George
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-24-2009
Chesapeake Sailor

wwilson is on a distinguished road
Runners

George,

The runners installed (by manufacturer) on my boat are on the toe rail. The tang is through bolted through the cap rail and the hull/deck joint. The athwart (transverse) placement is therefore maximized, as is the case for every other example that I am familiar with.

You do not mention boat size, but 5-ft aft of the mast sounds very close. In this picture, you can make out the tang for the runners just at the base of the stern pushpit - on the cap rail. On a 40-ft boat, that makes the distance more like 12-15-ft from the mast.

The runners are only deployed to support the mast when the inner forestay is used because it attaches well below the mast head. The universal pain in the ass with runners is, of course, that they inhibit the boom when tacking (or gybing). One must be slacked and one tightened for every change of course.