Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 01-04-2010
New Sailor

SeattleSail is on a distinguished road
Using Seaclear II with a netbook

I'm wondering if anyone has any experience using SeaClear II on a 10" or 12" netbook. I'm new to the software and wondering if a netbook with the long battery life would be a good thing or if I should just stick with my older laptop. Also, I'm wondering if anyone in the Seattle area is familiar with using SeaClear II and would provide a lesson or two. I'm fairly computer literate, just not with navigational software. Thanks, Carol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 01-04-2010

scottyt is on a distinguished road
i have it on both acer 10 inch netbook and a asus 9 inch. the asus is a slower computer and it works fine.

as for learning the best thing you can do is dream... make a plan for a dream trip and try to plot the course you want. when dome do it again for another dream trip.
Old 01-05-2010
Retired and happy

Leither is on a distinguished road
I also use SeaClear II on an Acer netbook and it works really well (Windows XP). I have it attached to a handheld Garmin and it has been a thoroughly practical and effective navigational tool. The netbook is so portable and easy to handle that I just wouldn't go back to using a big laptop.

The best way to become proficient at using the software is to practice. The manual that comes with it as a download covers the basics and that really is all you need to make it work for you.

Happy navigating!

Stuart

I must go down to the sea again, to the lonely sea and the sky - I left my shoes and socks there, I wonder if they're dry?
Old 01-06-2010

justified is on a distinguished road
Carol