Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 01-11-2010

seb5thman is on a distinguished road
Mercury 8-hp Problems

I hope this is the right forum for this question. I have a 2007 Mercury 4- stroke 8-hp outboard that gives me fits. It is connected to a 2.5 gal container with a bulb type primer. After priming the bulb the boat won't start half the time. I can smell gas so I think it's flooding, but it even does it on occasion when I only prime the bulb a couple of times. After waiting 15-minutes or so it will sometimes start, and if it does a lot of white smoke comes out. Other times I have to pull it 30+ times before it begins to sound like it wants to start.
The other problem is sometimes the starter handle seems to be seized up and won't allow me to pull start the engine. The engine is in neutral, and again it seems to have a mind of its own.
This is my first time with an outboard, so any suggestions would be helpful.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 01-11-2010

tommays will become famous soon enough
Tohastsu - 8hp 4cycle - tech questions

If you search this forum under Tohatsu (same as yours) you will get the low down on your problem which is generally form leaving fuel in the carb

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1981 J24 Tangent 2930
Tommays
Northport NY

If a dirty bottom slows you down what do you think it does to your boat
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 01-11-2010

75R20 is on a distinguished road