SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Bottom paint advice for day sailor

5K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  speter01 
#1 ·
Greetings all,

I am preparing to re-do the bottom paint on my boat and am struggling to find the best solution. My boat is an O'Day Mariner. This is my first time re-doing the bottom. I trailer it to fresh water lakes or the coast typically for a weekend at a time. The boat spends most of the time on the trailer. I don't race it, cruising only.

After reading the appropriate sections of Don Casey's sailboat maintenance book I was leaning toward the standard, copolymer anti-fouling paint (Interlux micron extra). But I'm wondering if this is completely over-kill for a day sailor.

I then looked into epaint EP-ZO as a less toxic alternative. Coulnd't find aything on their site indicating how it holds up out of the water. I am skeptical since they indicate more layers at the waterline are needed to offset the increased sun exposure.

It seems there should be a obvious solution, but I don't seem to be converging on it. The existing bottom paint is a white chalky ablative coating thats in pretty rough shape. Not sure what it is. I was going to test Franmar Soy Strip for removal as it seems a better way to capture particulate than just going at it with a hook scraper.

Any advice is appreciated

See less See more
#3 ·
Thanks.

Searching on this site I see that everyone is stripping to fiberglass and applying Interprotect 2000E under the VC17m. I assume that is for blister protection for boats that live in the water? For a trailer boat is it ok to strip the ablative coat, sand, prep, and apply the VC17m?

#4 ·
The Interprotect 2000e is also used as a primer/tie coat for the VC17m IIRC. It isn't just used as a barrier coating.

#5 · (Edited)