Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 02-11-2010

seb5thman is on a distinguished road
Replacing Windows

Hello all, I need some advice on replacing windows on my '86 Cal-22. First, let me say that I have no experience working on my boat. I purchased it last year and did no repairs to it, but this year I'd like to fix some of the leaks. The boat has a couple of leaks coming from the small windows on each side. The windows are not glass, but a plexi-glass material. They appear to be held in place with some type of caulking. I stopped by a local glass repair shop and they suggested replacing the current windows with glass, but I don't know. They seemed quite expensive too, $82.50 each for tempered smoked glass and $141 each for lexan.

So here are my questions:
1. What is the best window to put in (glass, plexi, other) 'cause I don't know
2. Is it a pain?

I also have a leak coming from a thru-bolt on a forward rail, but that will be tackled at another time. One thing at a time. But as the weather starts to warm up I'd like to get on some of these repairs.
Any thoughts appreciated!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-11-2010

seb5thman is on a distinguished road
This, I forgot....

I forgot to add that I have reviewed other posts/threads related to replacing windows. All I get is more confused. What I would like to know is:
1. Best material for a replacement window
2. Best caulking
3. Any other (simple) suggestions

Thank you very much.
Old 02-11-2010

paulk is on a distinguished road