SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Gear & Maintenance (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/)
-   -   holding tank vent (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/62951-holding-tank-vent.html)

tugboatdon 03-16-2010 05:01 PM

holding tank vent

I will be installing a holding tank where the inboard engine used to be on my 1966 Bristol 27. I was wondering where would be the best place for the vent(s). I am new to this boat rebuild process and would love to hear from you all. The tank will be 20 - 25 gallon. I think that anywhere near the cockpit would create a smell issue. I have seen pictures of this type of sailboat and she likes to heal. So anywhere near midship might cause a problem with egress of water. Thank you all for any help.

CalebD 03-16-2010 06:39 PM

The usual spot for holding tank vents is a few inches below the toe rail on the freeboard. It is important to have the vent holes near the tank so the vent hose is kept short. When we replaced our tank we added a second air vent to the tank as the more air in there the less stink is created. We use the KO bacterial tank treatment and have never smelled the tank while sitting in the cockpit.
Midships is probably not the best location for the vent(s) for the reasons you mentioned.

FSMike 03-16-2010 06:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tugboatdon (Post 581536)
I have seen pictures of this type of sailboat and she likes to heal. So anywhere near midship might cause a problem with egress of water.

I gather you mean ingress of water when the boat is heeling. You could run a vent line out through the transom I guess. That would work ok except possibly with a following breeze, just keep it an adequate amount above the waterline.
Why are you locating the holding tank so far from the head? At least I assume it's farther than necessary.

sailingdog 03-16-2010 07:30 PM