Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 04-04-2010

Nbot is on a distinguished road
New C-22 Mainsail questions

Hello,
New poster here...I'm looking to purchase a new mainsail from FX Sails for my 1986 C-22, just two quick questions:

1. Should I get my sail #'s on the sail? I'm fairly new to sailing and more weekend warrior than racing...but someone told me that everyone should just get the #'s on the sail if ordering new. Not sure if its "uncool" to have #'s on the sail if you aren't a racer, or if its practical to just get them anyways.

2. Should I get "2" reefing lines? Again me being a "newer" sailor I don't want to scare the piss out of my wife and so trying to be safe as possible, seems like being able to do a 2nd reefing point in heavier spring winds would be a good idea?

TIA,
Nathan
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-04-2010

scottyt is on a distinguished road
numbers are up to you, they do have a safety feature. you need to call help you can give them the numbers on the sail, they can be seen from miles with binos.

reefs, i say get one if you have a roller furler up front. if the wind gets too much take down the main and run the jib, furled to the size you need. if you have hanked on jibs get 2 reefs in the main.

edit also if you sail on a big body of water then more reefs makes sense. if on a lake that you can get to shore quick they are not as important

Last edited by scottyt; 04-04-2010 at 02:59 PM.
Old 04-05-2010

saildork is on a distinguished road