Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 04-30-2010
in over my head

sync is on a distinguished road
Outboard install

Hey everybody!
Im a little new to sailing, or at least having my own boat. I just bought a 76 Catalina 27 a few months ago and its now time for outboard shopping. My boat is the outboard model and I have an open motor well with tiller steering. Ive seen a lot of setup variations with similar boats and have a few questions:

1. Ive seen some people mount the motor in a fixed position and mount to controls remotely (meaning they still rely on the boat's rudder to steer while the motor stays in the same position.) Does that work well? I would think since I would have to mount the motor behind the rudder, the steering wouldn't be too responsive (especially at low speeds.) I really need the motor to get in and out of the marina.

2. Do you have to get a mounting bracket that steers or do most motors have that built in? (I know, dumb question...Sorry)