Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 05-02-2010

brainiac is on a distinguished road
Fixing delamination

I'm new to sailing, and last fall I bought a low price 1978 Mac 2-22. I've been doing minor cosmetic repairs and cleaning. Today's project was to replace the original ceiling carpet.

Once I got the old carpet out, I noticed delamination in two places. One area is significant, about 1 to 2 square feet, and the other is just starting to fail. Both problems are caused by water seeping through the hardware penetrations.

http://cid-ae3d190ae1637b35.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/Delamination%20area/IMG^_6246%20-%20Copy.jpg

From my inspection, I think there is mold filling the separation void. Both top and underside surfaces are fine.

It appears some previous owner knew about it and re-enforced the plywood in the dinet area. After removing the reenforcements, the area is soft and crunchy.

I would like to repair this properly before putting the ceiling carpet back on. I'm not sure the best way to proceed and am looking for advice. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-02-2010

paulk is on a distinguished road