Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 05-08-2010

davidpm is on a distinguished road
Casey Goes Rogue

This is page 272 of the second edition of "This Old Boat"

I've got to say I've been studying this for a few years now and his chapter on 12 volts is the best and most complete I've seen.

I hope he doesn't mind my posting a couple paragraphs that are a little off the beaten path as he covers:

Batteries, selection and sizing.
Amps, volts, ohm and meters
charging
solar
wind
110 volt

In short a very clear very complete and current section better than anything else I've seen.

Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-08-2010

This guy has different numbers?

Polk’s Top 7 Tips for Saving your RV Batteries
3. Reducing the battery’s depth of discharge will increase the life of the battery. A battery discharged to 50 percent every day (50 percent capacity remaining) will last twice as long as it would if it’s cycled to 80 percent (20 percent capacity remaining).
Old 05-08-2010

I just sent an email to Trojan and will post the answer.
6% is negligible 50% is a big deal.
Old 05-09-2010

mitiempo will become famous soon enough mitiempo will become famous soon enough