Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 05-13-2010

thevdeub is on a distinguished road
engine overheating

to put some context : I am a rookie and this is my first boat.
Got a Beneteau 43' from 92 with a Perkins Prima 50hp with 1000 hours.

now we went out a couple of time and motored without any issues for a dozen of hours (since we got the boat).

Last week, coming back to the marina, alarm rings and lot of white smoke.
did not think about dropping anchors, we made our way to the slip in 5-10 minutes. There was not water anymore from the exhaust.
Friends told me : Impaler or filter. Fine.
Today we check both. nothing wrong. we put the impaler back for a test. now everything is running fine (for 2 minutes, at the deck). well, i will change the impaler anyway, but still wondering : if nothing is wrong anymore, what happened ? i suppose i would have prefer something obvious, something broken.
Seaweed in the Intake ? got away by itself in the last couple of days ? simple overheating of the engine (too high ? did not remember being specifficaly aggressive and it ran literally for 5 minutes before the alarm beeped) ? Stuck impaler that does not show it and putting in and out solved the issue ?
The level of coolant seemed kind of low, but ive got hard time believing it s the issue as we motored with this for a dozen of hours two weeks ago.

Any help / opinion appreciated.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-13-2010

celenoglu is on a distinguished road