Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-10-2010

parttimesailor is on a distinguished road
Anchor Size/Weight?

I'm new to the coast of Massachusetts, but plan to do some near-shore sailing this Summer. My question - are there any good tools to estimate what size anchor and rode I would need for a 22', 1800-lb boat?
Old 06-10-2010

Gary M is on a distinguished road
Pick a style of anchor that you like then go to their web site. They all have a selection chart. Weight of anchor is very dependant on the particular style and manufacturer.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-10-2010
the pointy end is the bow

erps will become famous soon enough erps will become famous soon enough
Check with folks who cruise in your area as well. They'll know what the bottom is like in your cruising grounds. Some anchors perform better than others depending on the bottom.
La Conner, WA

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Boating for over 25 years, some of them successfully.
Old 06-10-2010

FSMike is on a distinguished road
Old rule of thumb -
One pound of anchor for every foot of boat length.
One foot of chain for every foot of boat length.

The above suggestions are a minimum.

Enough rode to anchor with at least 7:1 scope.

As previously suggested, ask local sailors what type of anchor works best in your area.
Old 06-11-2010

LinekinBayCD is on a distinguished road