Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 06-10-2010

bluwateronly is on a distinguished road
I hate painted boats

Okay, just got to vent. I do varnish for a living now adays. When I have a boat that is painted I cringe. You can't go near it with a heat gun and can't touch it with sand paper or you leave marks or burn or bubble the paint. Why do people paint good gelcoat. You just need to do the work and buff it out! Mainsail gave you the scoop. How the heck do you do your wood now. It's like sailing on ice, damm hard. Do you want to remove the wood before you varnish? Try it, it takes alot of time and most customers don't understand what's involved. I can do it but, it's a pita. My boat was all chalked out and I spent the time to bring the gel coat back and I don't have the worries that you painted boats have. I can drop something on it and it's not messed up, I can strip the old varnish off with a heat gun, no problem, sand when tapped not problem.Yea, it looks shiny but now your screwed. Just my opinion, and if you have a painted boat sorry.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 06-10-2010

futureshock999 is on a distinguished road
You paint good gelcoat when it's 44 years old...

Although I do sympathise - I bubbled some of the paint on my boat when I was using the heat gun and a scraper to remove the cockpit varnish on Xanthe II this spring. I had three different heads for the heatgun, which limited the affected areas. Fortunately, the bubbling was slight and small, and the paint is the NEXT thing to get done. I'll bluetape the varnished (OK, Cetoled) areas and use a gel paint remover before I repaint...
Old 06-10-2010
On the hard

CharlieCobra has a spectacular aura about CharlieCobra has a spectacular aura about