Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 08-09-2010
new and proud of it

w1651 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to w1651
Everyones scared to death of lightning

So I have been reading about the greatest fear at the dock and mooring. Lightning !!
Now maybe I am naive and I am a newbie at this, but there has to be a way to limit the chance of a lightning strike.
Is the answer to ground your boat so well it can take a direct hit or go the other way and try to limit the ground so well it hits to the boat in the slip next to you? And what about when sailing? Are you more or less at risk on the ocean?

Any advice and knowledge is helpful here.

Thanks in advance

This is a no smack down zone
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 08-09-2010

remetau is on a distinguished road
I like to dock next to boats with taller masts than mine. :-)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 08-09-2010
new and proud of it

Very very smart but still only drops the risk a small amount. Maybe drop the mast when in the slip would be the Ideal way to go.
Just have to call ahead so it is raised before you get to the dock.
Old 08-09-2010
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
The two primary things that influence whether you'll get hit are the mast height and the surface area of the boat. Catamarans were reported as getting hit more often than monohulls, primarily due to their increased surface area.