Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 08-31-2010

grinfax is on a distinguished road
Painting in Florida

So I have put this off long enough, a coat of white gelcoat dust sticks to my shirt when I sit in my cockpit and I am seeing parts of the fiberglass in the more worn out parts of my gelcoat. I need to paint my deck, I am not sure I have the skills or time to do it myself and even though it's old, I love my boat and like things well done.

I live in Miami and I am looking for recommendations on where I can take my boat to get painted. I don't mind sailing up the coast somewhere if that means I can get a job done cheaper and better. Can anyone recommend a good place in Florida to paint my boat?

How much should I expect to pay on a 30 foot Tartan (3000)? How long does the process generally take? Anything to look out for? Good sites to look at? I have never done this before so I am flying blind.

Thank you,
Kim
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-31-2010

tommays will become famous soon enough
Topsides is not so bad but not any bargins if done correctly

BUT a correct deck job is a large fortune as they have to remove ALL the hardware and replace it again when done and it is hard to do it outdoors in direct sunlight

Most of the good two part paints take 21 days to reach full hardness

First Cure Cycle: This cycle requires 12–24 hours at the standard conditions of 77°F (25°C), 50% R.H. When this stage is complete the painted surface can be handled; masking tape can be applied for striping and the finish appears to be dry. The coating can now be exposed to weather.

Second Cure Cycle: The second cure requires 72–96 hours at 77°F (25°C), 50% R.H. During this stage the film becomes much harder. Abrasion and chemical resistance develop. After the second cure cycle is complete the boat can be safely returned to limited service.