Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 09-22-2010

Summercamp is on a distinguished road
Hiding core damage repairs in non-skid areas

Hello,

I am new to repairing decks. I have read and understand the process of cutting the skin and replacing the core (if needed) from the outside. Also aware of the process of drilling holes and injecting epoxy from the outside. I am also considering to go at the repair from the inside where I have excellent access in the v-berth.

When doing the repair from the outside I have read the recommendations to cut the skin in a smooth area because it is easier to hide the repair "line". My repair area is 6" x 6" in a balsa cored foredeck and it is located in the middle of a non-skid area. Cutting the skin in smooth areas will create a much larger area to deal with and it seems to me to make sense to confine the repair to the smaller area around the actual softspot. The fact that I am going to re-do my non-skid areas has me thinking that it will work.

Questions:
1. My concern is hiding the repair after I am done. Can I hide the repair "line" in the non-skid when I re-do my non-skid? It seems like some of the non-skid products such as Durabek and Kiwi that contain the rubber particles would hide any repairs. From photos it looks like a product such as Interdeck would not. I would like to stay away from the heavy rubber glue on non-skids such as Treadmaster or Vetus. Am I on the right track? Any suggestions? Any other non-skid products to recommend?

2. Going at this repair from inside the boat seems a bit more difficult but certainly not impossible. I have read the ideas in Don Casey's book and like the idea of not touching the outer deck. I guess it comes back to the question that if I am going to re-do my non-skid anyway does it really make sense to do the repair from inside?

Any help or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Tom