Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 10-08-2010

rmeador is on a distinguished road
building a plate rack from teak

I was thinking I'd like to build a simple rack for the plates in my galley that could mount on the aft bulkhead. I'd like to buy some teak scraps from a local boat yard so it could be low-cost.

I'm thinking take a small flat piece, say 2"x12"x3/8" and some small strips, about 1/4"x1/4"x12", and glue the strips to the flat piece lengthwise, so I get grooves. Repeat 3X, then assemble the three sides in a U shape (grooves facing inwards), tying the open top of the U together with another strip across the "front". Voila, plates can slide into the grooves from the top and be secure. Any problems with the design?

Now the hard parts... what do I need to know about working with teak? I've got some woodworking experience, but mostly with pine. Are there any special considerations when cutting/drilling it? I have simple hand tools and a circular saw, drill, and speed saw (I think that's a brand name. it's sorta like a dremel, but used to cut things like holes for outlets in drywall). I live on my boat now, so my shop facilities consist of the cockpit The adhesives I have on hand are standard wood glue and 3M 5200 -- which would be better, or do I need something else? Should I get some small stainless steel tacks/finishing nails to hold my strips down, or would glue be sufficient? My "clamp" will probably be the latest box of stuff from Defender set down on top of the glued parts