Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2010

tburton is on a distinguished road
refrigeration

i just joined sailnet and hope i am doing this correctly - anyway, i have a rafiki 37 (my first sailboat ever) and i am a true novice - my refrigeration recently stopped working and i have been told by two different mechanics that it will cost between $1,700 and $2,200 to replace the compressor, module and thermostat, including labor - does this sound remotely correct or am i being completely fleeced?

thanks - tburton - sausalito
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-17-2010
Old Gaffer

FishSticks is on a distinguished road
Ice works quite well.
Old 12-17-2010

CaptainForce will become famous soon enough
'sounds like the approximate cost of an entire new unit. What is the make of your current refrig.? Does it have a Danfloss compressor? ....a 12 volt air cooled model? Tell us more,- with that cost it might be wise to change to a newer more energy efficient unit. Take care and joy, Aythya crew
Old 12-17-2010

Omatako will become famous soon enough
I think you're being fleeced.

We have discussed refridgeration on this forum at some length and I have psoted this info before but to save you the search I'll post it again.

This website is in New Zealand but these units are available just about anywhere (at least I am told they are). These units are so simple to install it's an easy DIY for just about anyone.

AIRCOOLED KITSETS

The supply only for the fridge unit for my boat complete was quoted at NZ$950 and the freezer unit (I'll be fitting both) was quoted at NZ$1450 and my fridge cavities are quite big (easily the size of an average domestic fridge).

These units are cutting edge for boats, run very efficiently on 12V and the ones with the water cooled condensors are extremely quiet and cool inside the boat (no fans).