Jib... one line or two? - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 01-26-2011 Thread Starter

Jib... one line or two?

I am new to sailing, and am looking to replace the sheets on the boat I just bought I have been reading the forums, and am wondering...Should I use one or two separate sheets to the jib? I plan on using a soft shackle to attach the sheet(s), which brings up another question...It looks like the soft shackle is made from a single braid line, is that right? I am not looking to race (yet), and hopefully won't have to change sails in a hurry, so it seems like a single line looped in the middle would be better than 2 separate.
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 01-26-2011

I have done the single line on the J24 and it works with no great advantage over two lines and the disadvantage of not being able to remove one of the lines if it becomes fouled

1970 Cal 29 Sea Fever

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1981 J24 Tangent 2930
Tommays
Northport NY

If a dirty bottom slows you down what do you think it does to your boat
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 23 Old 01-26-2011
Telstar 28

Of course, if you're looking to use soft shackles...then you could seize an eye in the middle of a single long line and use it for both sheets and then connect it to the sail using a soft shackle.

Sailingdog

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps
her going when she oughta fall down, tells you she's hurting 'fore she keens. Makes her a home.

—Cpt. Mal Reynolds, Serenity (edited)

If you're new to the Sailnet Forums... please read this