Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 02-04-2011
RNC725

RNC725 is on a distinguished road
Red face Okay, a 700 watt West Marine Inverter

does not come with mounting hardware and the instructions state to :

1. to avoid discharging the battery power source always turn off the power inverter and disconnect the inverter form the power supply when not in use.

2. disconnect the inverter from a vehicle when starting the engine

So, I should only "hook her up" when I'm planning on using the inverter?
If hooked up and using, do not start the engine?

Actually it was purchased for the blender this summer and perhaps a laptop to watch a movie or two.

My kayak surely didn't have these system issues -- of course the kayak wasn't propelled by the wind, didn't have a head, bunks, icebox, etc etc.

thanks guys, be as candid as you like, I'm a newbie and the curve is steep!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bobby Centers
s/v CIRCLE
1967 Cal-30
Augusta, GA
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 02-04-2011
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Quote:
So, I should only "hook her up" when I'm planning on using the inverter?
If hooked up and using, do not start the engine?
Yes, and yes.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps
her going when she oughta fall down, tells you she's hurting 'fore she keens. Makes her a home.

—Cpt. Mal Reynolds, Serenity (edited)