Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 02-09-2011

Danila is on a distinguished road
Clothes for Atlantic and Mediterranean April-May?

Hi everyone, I'm a complete novice sailor -- never been out overnight and haven't sailed in the Atlantic since I was a kid in Marblehead at (public) sailing camp! Ahem, no Pleon for me... On the other hand, I don't get seasick, so I have some sailor in me.

My cousin from Israel is a regular sailor, renting or delivering yachts a few times per year, usually sailing in Croatia or Greece, but also a few times around the Canary Islands. I decided to quit my job and join him on his biggest adventure yet, a trip from the Canary Islands (Apr. 19) to Madeira to Gibraltar, then up to Malaga (southern Spain) to Majorca in the Mediterranean (May 6). There will be other crew as well.

Now I don't know what to expect of the weather, but I expect I should get at least some foul weather gear. I've read a little here and my understanding is that a Helly Hansen bib and jacket should be okay. Should I just go with something like that and a pair of rubber boots? I ask because I'm in Germany but some family is visiting from the States, so if I order stuff online there it's cheaper and I can save a lot or, alternatively, get better gear.

So what should I make sure to buy as someone who has no sailing gear? And what normal clothes should I be looking to bring? I'm hoping I don't have to spend more than a couple hundred dollars at the most, and preferably less! (See above about quitting job)

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-09-2011
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
I wrote an article on my blog about this subject recently... you can read it HERE.