Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 02-12-2011

tip is on a distinguished road
What would you pay to get Barlow's rebuilt?

A guy a couple slips down from me asked if he could hire me to rebuild his winches. I'm an unemployed mechanic, and right now I could really use the money. I have no problem doing the job, I just don't know what to charge the guy.

What do you think would be reasonable labor charge (parts excluded)? BTW, the winches are two Barlow 16's. Thanks!

Bellingham, WA

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-12-2011

RichH will become famous soon enough
If the Barlows are 'push button' release .... you push in on the 'button' down deep in the octagonal hole that accepts the winch handle to 'release' the drum from the spindle .... then no charge! Just take them, walk to a trashcan and deposit them.
The 'springs' on the push-button release Barlows - that hold the barrel to the spindle get weak and the drum can completely fly off while the drum is under high load ... and hurt someone.

Otherwise ~$50/hr. (cash, of course) would be 'reasonable' and much cheaper than the typical 'yard labor charge' of $70-90+/hr. and unless youve worked such specific winches before it will take additional time to 'learning curve' them. Get the exploded view diagrams beforehand.

Of course, the $70-90/hr. yard charge would include the 'yard's mechanic' walking back and forth from the boat to the shop to look at the winch diagrams and then returning to a boat, and includes coffee / pee etc. breaks, etc. etc. Anything you charge him will be an honest 'bargain'.
Old 02-12-2011

Sabreman will become famous soon enough Sabreman will become famous soon enough