Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 04-23-2011
Lurker extraordinaire

dgasmd is on a distinguished road
Wood maintenance on the top side

Bear with me here as I am fairly new to this sailing business. I am currently looking at boats and learning a bit here and there. While looking at a few models, I got very interested in the Beneteau yachts. I pointed one out to my wife and the first thing that came out her mouth was: "that looks really nice, but all that wood on the top of the boat looks like it would require a lot of frequent maintenance". Didn't even occur to me until she said something about it. Looks nice, but it does beg the question. How often and what type of maintenance does it require?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-23-2011

MarkCK is on a distinguished road
Where are you located? Boats that are kept on the hard in northern states don't require near the maintenence that they do if they are kept in the water year round in Florida.
Old 04-23-2011

MarkCK is on a distinguished road
On my boat I hit the brightwork with a light sandpaper once in the spring and apply a coat on varnish on it and call it good. Other people have a much more intense touch up program.
Old 04-23-2011

Minnewaska will become famous soon enough Minnewaska will become famous soon enough