Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 04-24-2011

abode is on a distinguished road
cabin top sagging under mast, 31 bombay clipper

I have a 31 Bombay Clipper 30 yrs old. I have noticed the cabin sole under the mast is sagging. The boat has a compression post that is set ahead about 8 inches of the mast. I have read this problem is not uncommon for many boats. My proposed fix is to attach low on the compression post and build a truss like structure up to the cabin sole with an adjustable length that I can use to jack up the sole to my liking. This places a post under the mast and transfers all weight where it was designed to go. Does anyone foresee a problem with this? W
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 04-24-2011

MARC2012 is on a distinguished road
Would drop the mast myself,if done with mast in place and tight standing rigging will be a test of unstoppable force meeting immovable object.marc
Old 04-24-2011

fordo is on a distinguished road
I suspect that the support under the compression post has failed in some way, possibly rotted. The compression post support is like the mast step on a keel stepped boat, subject to the same stresses. I would take out the post(mast off, of course), and find out what the problem is. I would not put anything adjustable in a permanent solution. It may "adjust" itself while you aren't looking... not a good thing in your rigging. Ford
Old 04-24-2011

JimsCAL is on a distinguished road
I agree with fordo that there is something wrong with the compression post, probably at the bottom in the bilge. You need to find out what the problem is and fix it.
Old 04-24-2011